h1

The sporting life

March 6, 2008

 I’ve done some math and I actually have been eating more than I thought during my Daily Plate days. As I restricted to 1200 only part of the time, I knew that an average, if taken, would be higher, although I would have guessed closer to 1450. The number is more like 1550 – 1650. Although this means I still should have seen more weight loss than I have, the disparity between what “should be” and “what is” is actually less than I thought. Enter the calorie-restricted, low-carb diet. I’ve never been daft enough to think that metabolic advantage would get me weight loss at any number. I guess I just thought that with an RMR of 1980, I could get away with 1600 – 1700 calories. Now I’m keeping it in the neighborhood of 1200 net, which in the past I had thought was too low. I used to be very hungry on 1200. Now that the majority of my calories come from fat, 1200 is not really so hard. I’m netting 1200 too, not grossing 1200, so on very active days I will be liable to eat closer to 17 – 1800 calories.

Distention is still at bay but I feel a little puffy now and then. I eat things that I know I shouldn’t and I react but not as badly as I used to. I know that means that I am healing, and I know I should not keep eating these things, if I want to continue to heal. It seems that inulin is still a bad idea, although not nearly as bad as it was only a little over a month ago. Wheat is really not a good idea, nor is soy.

I have upped my carbs from induction numbers and I feel water retention. I’m thinking ketosis is a good place for me right now, yet I’m having trouble reconciling my desire for ketosis with my need to work out a lot. I’m doing Pilates most every morning and trying to make it to yoga twice a week, a sculpting class once a week, and cardio most other days. I need to find ketosis above induction numbers but most probably below 40 g. Perhaps a Fage after workouts would help.

Leave a Reply

