h1

That kid is back on the escalator again!

May 16, 2008

My job is often full of inappropriate people, but then a lot of jobs are. A lot of times it can actually feel like I’m babysitting a bunch of rude children, only I’m not really paying all that much attention to what they spend all day doing. I’ve been chided more than once for taking lots of supplements (so much so that I’ve bought little pill keepers and carted things back and forth instead of keeping my bottles on my desk) and I’ve been asked why I spend so much money on food when people spot me carrying bags in from the local organic market. I’ve been asked point blank why I don’t ever partake in birthday cakes. Because we have about a million birthdays every week here. And apparently some people are offended when everyone on the floor doesn’t participate. Even though I pay into the cake fund each month when asked!

Today I got in the elevator with a gentleman who works here on my floor. He turns to another gentleman in the elevator, a friend of his, and asks, “If you don’t mind me asking, why are you putting on so much weight?”

I was mortified for them both. The poor guy was really embarrassed. He wasn’t really overweight, by the way. The offending man turned towards me and tried to explain himself, but I told him that there wasn’t any explanation in the world that he could offer to get himself out of that one.

Xifaxan has been done for some time now. I’m feeling like my old self again. Still low carb, although my doctor has urged me to test the carby waters, so I do every now and then. I have a wrap, I have a bowl of puffed rice. I always react, only not as badly as before. the discomfort is always there but the bloating just isn’t as bad as it used to be. We are waiting it out and I may undergo a second breath test in July, and respectively a second course of antibiotics. I’m really into the idea of regaining my carb tolerance, but not in order to eat them regularly, because I’d like to get back into deep ketosis. I’ve been playing around with my macronutrient breakdown a little bit this month, going back and forth from high protein to high fat. Again, I have no idea what I’m doing, but high fat does seem to rev up my metabolism a little. I realized today that if I look at weekly or even monthly totals, I’m still losing at a very slow rate, but if I look at the long view, or two months to the day since I started weighing everyday, using a heart rate monitor, and burning more calories but less frequently, I have lost 7 lbs. That’s 3.5 lbs per month – that’s quite fast for me.

7 comments

  1. What happened to SIBO after Xifaxan? is it cured completely ?
    My doctor changed xifaxan to ciproflocacin due to insurance issues but doesn’t seem to solve problem so I was wondering if I should try xifaxan if its better med for SIBO.
    Any comments!!


  2. Hi Comp Prof! Ah the aftermath of the Xifaxan. After a ten day course of 1200 mg per day, the doctor and I are playing “wait and see.” I keep a fairly strict diet so I usually feel great! And when I come off it I feel sick but I don’t feel as sick as I used to. The best part is that I usually don’t experience any bloating at all, and when I do I only seem to get bloated about 20% as much as I used to. It is a low bloating that can easily be “sucked in;” nothing at all like the old, pants-busting, painful distention that I used to get. So it would seem that Xifaxan has been effective for me, and the combo of the Xifaxan and the diet seems to have really changed things altogether. If I were to decide tomorrow that I wanted to eat a high-carb diet again, such as the vegan diet I used to eat, I’m not so sure what the situation would be.

    I can’t speak to ciproflocacin, because I have not tried it. How’s your diet, Comp Prof?

    I’m going to try and answer all your comments, so let me know if I miss something.


  3. Thanks for ur reply. I checked your blog several times but couldn’t locate your reply. Anyways, I completed my 10 day course on ciprofloxacin . I did felt better during those days with med and strict diet but towards 8-9th day it appeared i had too much antibiotic and some mouth infection kind of thing. I checked internet and found that symptoms appear to be yeast infection due to antibiotics so I swithced to anti candida diet…no fruits, no grains, no sugar.
    I did fasting several days and just rice. I am a vegan predominantly but now also eat chicken so finding it difficult to get low -carb diet.
    I have an abodminal ultrasound planned as sometimes i feel pain in upper right quadrant. I think I read that u had gall bladder removed , do u have any idea if that had any impact on this situation.

    another question- after xifaxan , do u have any improvement in bloating after phyical exercise. I still get it after running/jogging and bowel movement.
    Thanks for your time.


  4. Hi, Have you conciously stopped updating your blog? are the issues solved?
    If yes, then it would be nice if you could summarize the right approach /steps to tackles this specific illness or symptoms of illness.


  5. I adore the name of this entry. Am I the only one that liked Mall Rats the most out of Kevin Smith’s films?


    • Hi,

      I too am wondering how you are feeling now post Xifaxan. I have been dealing with non-stop bloating since November. It started getting bad in September with 14 days. Then 4 days of a flat stomach and 29 days bloated. In November it went from cyclical to constant. Between September and December I gained 14 lbs despite a low carb diet that previously kept me nice and lean. My latest issue is an elevated heart rate – not sure from what.

      Anyway, since the breath test is only 60% accurate, my doctor thinks we should just try a round of Xifaxan (1,200 mg a day) along with Lamisil since I also have fungal overgrowth. He feels it is best to address both because if you only address one it will make the other flare up.

      I am worried though that the Xifaxan will not help and I will have killed a bunch of good bacteria along with bad bacteria and still have a bloated gut.

      Any input? I hope you read this and reply.

      Thanks,
      Kristina


  6. You have an amazing blog. Thanks for escalating my knowledge. I was not well-known with it. For more update I will be in touch. I really appreciate your post. It’s so useful for all of us. Thanks for sharing.



Leave a Reply

