h1

More thoughts on kefir and a new Italian SIBO study

October 1, 2009

I’ve taken about an 8-day homemade kefir break and gone back to a more simplistic meat-and-eggs (and cheddar cheese) Atkins-style diet. I no longer feel like a zombie walking around but I’m still very tired. I’m going to start a new batch of kefir tonight (my grains have been sitting in milk for a week) as I just can’t buy into it being a black and white thing – as in kefir is really good or really bad for me….I think I just need to drink a much smaller amount each day.

I’m still having the body aches and pains. I haven’t gotten around to getting back on the VSL. I’ve been taking the peppermint oil and oregano oil again (natural anti-microbials) although this recent thread from some folks in the Rosacea community doesn’t give me much hope that these efforts will assist in bringing any lasting relief.  The bloating was pretty awful yesterday even though I ate above the line all day. I am about to start my cycle so I’m not freaking out about it. I’m even having small amounts of sugar today since the bloating is coming of its own free will. Myperiod = cravings for chocolate. I’m only human.

Still working through some complex thoughts on the constant return of digestive symptoms for those of us who experience great luck with Xifaxan. It really seems to be the norm, not the exception. I found a few old articles that I won’t even bother linking where Pimentel notes that patients can experience symptom relief for around 10 weeks. This is a fair enough number if 1) Xifaxan didn’t cost so much for off-label use and 2) it actually happened for most folks.

So I didn’t find any new research on reoccurance, but I did find a new Italian study on SIBO in children. Enjoy the abstract here.

4 comments

  1. Kefir is not for everybody,some people can have an allergic reaction to the stuff,like a bloated stomach.


    • Kefir is indeed not for everyone. I’m no longer drinking it myself.

      If you are becoming bloated by it then you may indeed have a lactose allergy or a yeast allergy. Because allergic reactions are rarely gastrointestinal in nature, you may also just have bacterial imbalances like me, or a lactose intolerance, or perhaps you’re reacting to the casien. Or you’ve bought some kefir from the store and you’re bloating due to the FOS/inulin they have probably added to the ingredients.

      Some people say its worth it to stick with it anyway because you’re just having “die-off” but I don’t think I buy this anymore. Its not likely anyway. I suppose anything is possible.


  2. I just like the valuable info you provide to your articles. I?ll bookmark your blog and test once more right here regularly. I’m reasonably sure I will be told many new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the following!


  3. I rarely comment, however i did a few searching and wound up here More thoughts on kefir and a new Italian SIBO
    study | A Year Without Cake. And I actually do have
    a few questions for you if it’s allright. Is it simply me or
    does it appear like some of the responses appear like left
    by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional online sites, I’d
    like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post.
    Would you list of the complete urls of all your social pages like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?



Leave a Reply

