h1

All of the above most likely

November 17, 2009

Does this picture make me tear up (and sob uncontrollably) because

A) I grew up without a mother, who died when I was 10?

B) I’m afraid I’ll never have a child of my own? This used to be totally okay; I even went through the trouble of falling in love with a man who also didn’t want to have kids. I think if I were experiencing anything like what most women go through with their biological clocks I might have died by now, but mine’s ticking a little – I swear I can hear it under a pile of new wave CDs, my undying love for my cats, about 12 months of backlogged student loan payments, several layers of guilt about not being productive enough at work, a few screenplays I never wrote or produced, and that decision I have to make aboutwhat I’m going to wear this weekend to that party that I love.

C) I’m on my 6th round of Xifaxan and they always make me feel a little crazy?

OK Here are my symptoms: Slight irritability. A light feeling of sadness and despair. Light bloating and crampiness.

That’s it. Seriously.

And here’s my theory. Kefir ruined my life. This happened because the housekeeper wave is screwed, and has been since the spring of 2006, if not before. Kefir grains may be full of beneficial bacteria but they tend to deposit all the good stuff in all the wrong places for me. Hence, the last course I took of Xifaxan wasn’t able to help me as much as it normally does. Not because it wasn’t working, but rather because it was working so intensely hard. It was trying to get to the normal bad guys colonizing my small intestine, but it got really busy killing off an entirely new population of friendlies, kefir-y goodness friendlies, meant for my colon, which had taken up residence in my small bowel. This is why I had a CRAZY Herxheimer, which included severe body aches, depression, bloating and distention, headaches, diarrhea, and just loads and loads of misery. But it was all worth it because I got better, right?

WRONG! I pretty much felt only slightly better than before. Which is why I am taking a sixth course. I hold out hope that this time I truly did just need more Xifaxan to completely wipe out the unusually large (even by my dense standards) microbial zoo living in my short gut.

Good things that are happening – I’ve lost a few pounds, finally. I am slightly less tired than before and able to work out (which is why the weight is coming off – god bless you low carb enthusiasts like Taubes but if I don’t move I don’t lose) and I don’t want to spend my entire life under the covers, just some of it.

More to come.

Comments, suggestions?

2 comments

  1. I am currently taking magnesium citrate (1500mg/day in 5 divided doses). It is helping… ‘helping’ with a small ‘C’. I am noticing that my BMs are more well-formed. I put myself onto magnesium because I noticed that on days when I didn’t have a BM I felt twitchy and irritable. I thought that it was because the no-BM was causing this… but then I wondered if it was a co-symptom. And that got me thinking about magnesium. I don’t know what you know about magnesium, and whether you know that magnesium oxide is the normal cheap stuff that goes into most supplements – well, it is very poorly absorbed with most of it going straight to the colon and leading to loose bowels at relatively low doses. Magnesium citrate, by comparison, is better absorbed and therefore taking 1500mg (for me) doesn’t give me loose bowels, whereas taking 500mg magnesium oxide dose.

    You will, of course, know that SIBO sufferers are deficient/low in many minerals – with magnesium being one of them.

    I’m taking magnesium tablets at the moment – 10 of them – complete with all the fillers and binders they contain. I’ve not reached my optimal dose yet (the dose when you get comfortably loose bowels) because I just don’t want to be taking more than 10 of any tablet/day! When the bottle is finished I will move to magnesium citrate powder. It will be much more difficult to calculate dosage because 1/2 teaspoon contains 2500mg. The smallest measure I have is 1/4 teaspoon – so, I guess I’ll have to mix it in a bottle of water and drink divided doses that way.

    Anyway, I went a bit off-topic. This magnesium-rant was triggered by your irritability comment. Plus the fact that magnesium is required for muscle contraction. I don’t know yet whether it will be the answer for me, but I hope that it will bring me a few steps closer to better management.

    I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on magnesium for SIBO.

    N x


  2. The one thing I noticed when doing the antibiotics (rifaximin) was I had energy. It really didn’t help the bloating but I was not eating low fodmap at all. I miss the energy.



Leave a Reply

