h1

Google Alerts, Twitter Accounts, SIBO Awareness and Internet Friendships!

February 2, 2010

I don’t know what I would do without Google alerts. I was able to watch the Sherlock Holmes trailer the day it was released, although I don’t typically comb the internet for movie news. I kept tabs on my “home” agency, the one where I currently work, where I first worked out of grad school, while I left to trial the private sector.  And I found NonNosher thanks to Google Alerts too! And finding NonNosher’s blog, the Year of Eating Weirdly-Celiac Surprise, could not have come at a better time.

It’s true. I mean, I lived through months and months of mostly the same thing every night – a link here and there to a journal article I’d already read. Or a link to a citation to that same journal article. Or a brand new lit review would come out rehashing all the relevant SIBO literature, which I’d already read. Hooray! Sometimes the link would point to a recent forum post penned by – you guessed it, me! I did learn something completely new from my SIBO Google alerts – apparently SIBO is a very popular nickname!

So, when one day I opened up my Google alert to find mention of NonNoshing and Noragomy (what?) and Celiac disease, I probably didn’t think much at first, but I followed the  link anyway, and what did I see but someone else who used to really enjoy food and eating but now had problems with common, everyday items like fructose and gluten! I read with excitement upon finding my very first SIBO-centric blog besides my own, and I commented immediately. And here we are, about a month later and we’re twittering for SIBO Awareness. That’s right! You may have noticed that my twitter link has changed from my personal account, which is sometimes SIBO-related, to a new one using my blog name. You can find me here: http://twitter.com/GirrlockHolmes

Please follow me and then follow NonNosher, my partner for SIBO Awareness here: http://twitter.com/NonNosher

We want doctors to know how to test for and diagnose SIBO. We want nutritionists to recognize the signs and symtpoms of SIBO and be able to recommend healthy, SIBO-safe food choices. We want SIBO to get the same publicity that Celiac disease and the gluten-free lifestyle have. We want an easier time for the woman or man who wakes up one day and wonders where the bloating and distention or diarrhea and constipation or migratory myalgia or any other more or less common SIBO symtpom are coming from to have a little bit of an easier time on thier way to diagnosis. We want awareness and eventually we want something beyond treatment and recurrance. We want a cure!

NonNosher will probably, much like myself, need a little more than a year to eat weirdly and abstain from cake. Maybe, like me, NonNosher will need a few years. Here’s to a shared campaign and the wonder of the internet for bringing two women in two different states with the same digestive condition together to tweet for more awareness about SIBO!

7 comments

  1. Wow Girrlock! I am truly moved. Thank you. And I hope lots of other folks with SIBO join us in our SIBO awareness campaign. 😀


  2. I’m so glad I found your blog. I’ve been dealing with SIBO for about three years now, and I just started the Specific Carbohydrate Diet last week. It’s a great relief to know there are other people out there going through the same thing I am. Thanks for all the helpful info.

    Looking forward to future posts!


  3. NonNosher, glad you like it! Every word is true.

    Ashleigh, very glad you’re here. This condition is way too isolating and that totally needs to change. Please read on and comment lots and blog blog blog and tweet tweet tweet! NonNosher and I thought we were alone and it turns out we were in great company!

    And feel free to join the Yahoo group where lots of discussion takes place….its a great place to test theories, rant and rave, and share experiences.


  4. So after about a year without a decent pastry (those “gluten free” alternatives at Whole Foods don’t cut it for me) I’ve finally found a delicious recipe for apple cinnamon muffins and I just have to share it. It’s super easy, and it’s all I want to eat these days.

    Here’s the recipe, just had to share…

    3 cups grated apples
    3 eggs, beaten
    3 cups nut flour (I grind raw almonds in a coffee grinder)
    1/3 cup melted butter
    1/2 – 2/3 cup liquid honey
    2 tsp cinnamon
    1 tsp baking soda
    1/2 tsp salt

    Mix almond flour, melted butter, honey, and apple.
    Add beaten eggs, cinnamon, salt, baking soda. Mix well.
    Bake in muffin tins at 350 for 20 min (or until done).

    mmmmmmmm so good!


  5. Ashleigh,

    Nut flour is such a life saver! These muffins look good. I don’t think I could tolerate the apples and definitely not the honey. But your recipe gives me ideas for further experiments – I’ve been trying to do something cookie-ish with almond flour and stevia… 🙂


  6. Girrlock Holmes,

    So, help me understand something, please. Is Stevia a safe sweetener for SIBO sufferers? Do you think it does not feed the bacteria?


    • KMS, I’m sorry! I have lots of unanswered comments and I’m feeling like a jerk – sorry. To answer your question (and I am NOT an expert) i personally feel that stevia is a safe sweetener for SIBO. It is not sugar nor is it a sugar alcohol, and it also does not contain any artificial chemicals (in its natural state.) That said, a few words of caution: I heard/read somewhere that Elaine Gottschall did not allow stevia. I honestly can’t remember why but its worth looking into if you find some of the principals of the SCD diet helpful to you. Gottschall not only allowed put promoted honey, which destroys me, so I’ll take my stevia thank you very much. Personally I have found that you have to look out for what the stevia is mixed/filled with. You can get it in a lactose base, obviously if you have problems with lactose that’s not a good idea. Some manufacturers package it with FOS – this is bad for most people with SIBO too. Truvia, unfortunately is packaged with erythritol – I have a VERY low threshold for this stuff. So its important to find the right stevia for you. It is possible to get it packaged alone, or you could grow it yourself. 🙂



Leave a Reply

