h1

A Vacation without Cake Not Likely

March 4, 2010

So there’s no time for a more in-depth update before I’m off on my vacation; that will have to wait just one more week.

Leaving your life for a week of fun and adventure when you’re sick is hard! Flying, especially, can be hard on an already imbalanced digestive system. Obviously when the alternative is feeling bloated and sore at home, feeling bloated and sore in a foreign country is not so bad. And there is always positive thinking, because it could be much worse and we should be thankful that it is not. But yet there is always the fear of wasted time and opportunities; what wonders will I miss out on should I start to feel ill? All the time spent planning each careful part of the adventure seems to go to waste.

But I’ve been feeling a bit better lately so here’s hoping that it will be a good trip all the same. Have a great week without cake. I’m probably going to eat some cake, at least once, right before bed, while I’m vacationing in Ireland. Most likely from this restaurant.

Beir bua agus beannacht!

4 comments

  1. Girrlock,

    I’ve been combatting digestive issues for the last several years (ever since I quit smoking, started eating well and running). Over the last few months my symptoms have gotten much worse, and my doctors have up to this point been less than helpful. I recently increased efforts to do something about it, and became aware of fructose malabsorption and stumbled upon your blog.

    Thanks for putting together a great site, with helpful links and information. It looks like I may be at the beginning of a long journey, but you have blazed a trail for me (I am a quasi-vegetarian) that may save me from some potential pitfalls. I hope you enjoyed your vacation, and good luck managing your continuing symptoms.


  2. Hi RunnerK! I’m so sorry to hear that you’re suffering; I completely understand the smoking thing as sadly this is when I began to develop digestive problems too.

    Vacation was lovely; had a rough patch here and there but overall it was nice. Thanks so much for commenting on the blog…I think years ago I set out with high and grand expectations about this, expectations with the words “inform” and “cure” in them somewhere….and quickly realized that honesty was probably the best I could do! It means a lot to me to know that my honesty about this condition is helpful to other people.

    Please join the Yahoo group if you haven’t already; it would be great to get updates on how you’re doing…

    Girrlock Holmes


  3. Hi,

    Just wanted to say i’ve enjoyed reading your blog and have found some really informative stuff on here that I am going to talk to my doctor about. I am 27 years old and have been sick for about 3 years, first with interstitial cystitis which them morphed into CFS and now has become some pretty crazy GI symptoms which i’m pretty convinced are SIBO, am hoping to get a test ASAP. I can’t BELIEVE after all the research I have done, I have not heard of sibo, and then I was reading that in some cases it is linked to Interstitial cystitis, and restless legs syndrome, both of which i have, it about blew me away that I had never come across this thing. I used to be able to eat anything, even with this the CFS (even though I prob shouldn’t have), but after a bout of food poisoning 6 months ago, can barely eat anything, especially fruit, and most recently grains. Anyhow, thanks for the blog, I’m curious what my tests results will show.


    • Wow, Kelly. Thanks for the comment. I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. I am especially sorry to hear you’re feeling so bad, but so glad you were able to get some info from the blog and elsewhere! You are dealing with so much at only 27 – CFS and IC and all that other stuff. Its not fair. How did things turn out with the doctor? I would really like to know what he/she thought about SIBO and testing you. Please update me if you’re still around. We’d love to have you in the group too if you haven’t joined already. Things are a little quiet there lately and I’m hoping its because people are for the most part feeling a little better 🙂



Leave a Reply

